TEXAS ETHICS COMMISSION

P.O. Box 12070, Austin, Texas 78711-2070 (512) 463-5800

Paula M. Mendoza, Chair Jim Graham, Vice Chair Jim Clancy Wilhelmina Delco Tom Harrison George "Trey" Henderson, III Tom Ramsay Chase Untermeyer

AGENDA

Date and Time: 8:30 a.m. on Friday, June 11, 2010 Location: Room E1.010, Capitol Extension, Austin, Texas

- 1. Call to order; roll call.
- 2. Communication to the commission from the public.
- 3. Comments by the commissioners.
- 4. Comments by the executive director.
 - a. Personnel
 - b. Quarterly Report
- 5. Approve minutes of the April 21, 2010, commission meeting.
- 6. Presentation, discussion, and possible action regarding the Strategic Plan of the Texas Ethics Commission; David A. Reisman, Executive Director.
- 7. Briefing, discussion, and possible action to waive or reduce certain penalties assessed for late filing of campaign finance reports, lobby reports, or personal financial statements for the following individuals:

Manuel J. Barraza	Wayne G. Raasch	Leonard M. Martinez
David W. Chew	Clinton P. Sayers	Leslie Midgley
Hubert Deloyd 'Dee' Bailey	Lindy Suze	Scott A. Miller
Eric L. Baumgart	Lori I. Valenzuela	Rosemarie Selman
Billy E. 'Bill' Burton	Rose Vela	Bart C. Standley
Robyn L. Burwell	James P. Wilson, Jr.	Shawn Stevens
Tony Cunningham	Lyle T. Larson	Robert J. 'Sam' Tessen
James M. 'Jim' Foreman	Debra H. Lehrmann	Michael Young
Gene Freeman	Meca L. Walker	Mark F. Banar
John V. Garza	Kelley B. Brown	Frederick H. 'Fred' Brown
Derek D. Grayson	Anthony Aranda	Teresa J. Hawthorne
Dale S. Hanna	John K. Courage	Ralph Kelly
Eric M. Holdt	Neil J. Devroy	Lane M. Luskey
Robert C. Kline	D. Shawn Stevens	Christopher T. Owens

Star Locke Michelle A. Thomas Ruby Jeanette Eddins 'RJ' Parham

David A. Lopez Guy C. Williams David Hanschen Charles McCoy Kathleen Bethune David A. Lopez Michael E. McLelland Elaine G. Bishop Debra Medina

Cliff L. Messina Rickey Howard Brannon, Sr.

Rebecca Osborne C. M. English, Jr. William 'Billy' Mitchell

Ruby Jeanette Eddins 'RJ' Parham Charles L. Perry
Carl Pendergrass S. Tanner Garth Amy L. Everhart

8. Briefing, discussion, and possible action to waive or reduce late-filing penalties in connection with certain corrected reports or to determine whether certain corrected reports as originally filed substantially complied with the applicable law for the following individuals:

Martin J. Hoffman Mabrie Griffith Jackson

Richard B. Lawson Kelley B. Brown

Melinda 'Mindy' Montford Josh Flynn

Marie P. Smith Howard H. Gano, Jr. Martha J. Wong Farouk Shami

Alice J. O'Neill

9. Discussion and possible action regarding the termination of a campaign treasurer appointment of the following inactive political committee:

Ysleta Educators PAC 'YEPAC'

- 10. Creation of a subcommittee of commissioners to consider Advisory Opinion Request No. 555 in which we are asked to consider the following: Whether a conclusion that an expense is "reimbursable with public funds" for purposes of sections 251.001(4) and (9) of the Election Code requires that public funds be appropriated or otherwise available to cover the expense.
- 11. Public discussion and possible action on the proposal or adoption and publication in the Texas Register of section 12.81 of the Ethics Commission Rules (Technical, Clerical or *De Minimis* Violations), relating to the procedures for investigating and resolving technical and clerical violations of laws within the Commission's jurisdiction as provided by section 571.0631 of the Government Code.
- 12. Public discussion and possible action on the proposal and publication in the Texas Register of section 22.6 of the Ethics Commission Rules (Reporting Direct Campaign Expenditures), relating to the reporting of direct campaign expenditures after *Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission* and Ethics Advisory Opinion No. 489.
- 13. Public discussion and possible action on the proposal and publication in the Texas Register of the repeal of section 22.5 of the Ethics Commission Rules (Direct Campaign Expenditures), relating to direct campaign expenditures before *Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission* and Ethics Advisory Opinion No. 489.

- 14. Creation of a subcommittee of commissioners to consider recommendations to the 82nd Legislature as required by section 571.073 of the Government Code.
- 15. Adjourn.

CERTIFICATION: I certify that I have reviewed this document and that it conforms to all applicable Texas Register filing requirements.

Certifying Official: David A. Reisman, Executive Director

Agency Liaison: Natalia Luna Ashley, General Counsel

NOTICE: Under the Americans with Disabilities Act, an individual with a disability must have an equal opportunity for effective communication and participation in public meetings. Upon request, the Texas Ethics Commission will provide auxiliary aids and services, such as interpreters for the deaf and hearing impaired, readers, and large print or Braille documents. In determining the type of auxiliary aid or service, the commission will give primary consideration to the individual's request. Those requesting auxiliary aids or services should notify Margie Castellanos at (512) 463-5800, (800) 325-8506, or RELAY Texas (800) 735-2989 two days before this meeting so that appropriate arrangements can be made. Please also contact Ms. Castellanos if you need assistance in having English translated into Spanish.