Paula M. Mendoza, Chair Jim Graham, Vice Chair Jim Clancy Wilhelmina Delco Tom Harrison George "Trey" Henderson, III Tom Ramsay Chase Untermeyer

AGENDA

Date and Time:	8:30 a.m. on Thursday, August 12, 2010
Location:	Room E1.010, Capitol Extension, Austin, Texas

- 1. Call to order; roll call.
- 2. Communication to the commission from the public.
- 3. Comments by the commissioners.
- 4. Comments by the executive director.
 - a. Personnel
 - b. Sworn Complaints
- 5. Approve minutes of the June 11, 2010, commission meeting.
- 6. Presentation of the FY2012-13 Legislative Appropriations Request of the Texas Ethics Commission; David A. Reisman, Executive Director.
- 7. Discussion and possible action on a letter from the commissioners to the state leadership regarding the budget of the Texas Ethics Commission.
- 8. Report from the subcommittee of commissioners on recommendations for statutory changes to the 82nd Legislature as required by section 571.073 of the Government Code.
- 9. Briefing, discussion, and possible action to waive or reduce certain penalties assessed for late filing of campaign finance reports, lobby reports, or personal financial statements for the following individuals:

Alan Mayfield	Arthur C. 'A.C.' Nelson	Louis J. Malfaro
Jose S. Mayorga, Jr.	Charles L. Perry	Brenda A. Trolin
Sylvia Barnes	Scott C. Sanders	Women's Health Caucus
Kirk A. Calhoun	Alfred H. 'Al' Bennett	Mark F. Banar
Sharon T. Carr	Ismael 'Kino' Flores	Luke Bellsnyder
Colleen E. Cummings	Gary Hall	Jana S. Blasi
Caroline Kupstas Daley	James H. Keeshan	Jose E. Camacho

For more information, contact David A. Reisman, Executive Director, at (512) 463-5800

John V. Garza	Patrick B. Nolan	Harold J. 'J.R' Reddish
Nathan Goldstein, III	Douglas E. Oldmixon	Alan Schoenbaum
Teresa J. Hawthorne	William Eugene 'Bill' F	Parham
Zena Heather Hollub	Melvin K. 'Kent' Sims	Charles B. Wilkison
Maria T. 'Terri' Jackson	Brian D. Birdwell	Amy L. Everhart
Robert Elliott Jones	Myron J. Goins	Teresa J. Hawthorne
Ricardo Maestas	Mimi Rebecca Espinoza	Cliff L. Messina
Lori B. McCool	Carlos Isidoro Gutierrez	Oscar J. Palma, Jr.
Steven C. McCraw	June Perdue Jenkins	Rosemarie Selman
Tom C. Mesa, Jr.	Tracy King	

10. Briefing, discussion, and possible action to waive or reduce late-filing penalties in connection with certain corrected reports or to determine whether certain corrected reports as originally filed substantially complied with the applicable law for the following individuals:

John Bass	Stephen J. Gilles	Allan 'Bud' Shivers, Jr.
Elizabeth 'Betty' Blackwell	Mary Kay Green	Matt Shaheen
Patricia Botello	Joe Heflin	Dustin R. Burrows
Barbara Buxton	Terri Tipton Holder	Mattie Youngblood
Stephen Dietz	Jim L. Peacock	

- 11. Public discussion and possible action on the proposal or adoption and publication in the Texas Register of section 12.81 of the Ethics Commission Rules (Technical, Clerical or *De Minimis* Violations), relating to the procedures for investigating and resolving technical and clerical violations of laws within the Commission's jurisdiction as provided by section 571.0631 of the Government Code.
- 12. Public discussion and possible action on the adoption and publication in the Texas Register of section 22.6 of the Ethics Commission Rules (Reporting Direct Campaign Expenditures), relating to the reporting of direct campaign expenditures after *Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission* and Ethics Advisory Opinion No. 489.
- 13. Public discussion and possible action on the adoption and publication in the Texas Register of the repeal of section 22.5 of the Ethics Commission Rules (Direct Campaign Expenditures), relating to direct campaign expenditures before *Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission* and Ethics Advisory Opinion No. 489.
- 14. In request for advisory opinion AOR-555, the Texas Ethics Commission has been asked whether a conclusion that an expense is "reimbursable with public money" for purposes of sections 251.001(4) and (9) of the Election Code requires that public funds be appropriated or otherwise available to cover the expense.

The commission requests the public to comment on AOR-555. Possible action on AOR-555.

For more information, contact David A. Reisman, Executive Director, at (512) 463-5800

15. Adjourn.

CERTIFICATION: I certify that I have reviewed this document and that it conforms to all applicable Texas Register filing requirements.

Certifying Official: David A. Reisman, Executive Director Agency Liaison: Natalia Luna Ashley, General Counsel

NOTICE: Under the Americans with Disabilities Act, an individual with a disability must have an equal opportunity for effective communication and participation in public meetings. Upon request, the Texas Ethics Commission will provide auxiliary aids and services, such as interpreters for the deaf and hearing impaired, readers, and large print or Braille documents. In determining the type of auxiliary aid or service, the commission will give primary consideration to the individual's request. Those requesting auxiliary aids or services should notify Margie Castellanos at (512) 463-5800, (800) 325-8506, or RELAY Texas (800) 735-2989 two days before this meeting so that appropriate arrangements can be made. Please also contact Ms. Castellanos if you need assistance in having English translated into Spanish.