TEXAS ETHICS COMMISSION

P.O. Box 12070, Austin, Texas 78711-2070 (512) 463-5800

Tom Ramsay, Chair Jim Clancy, Vice Chair Hugh C. Akin Tom Harrison Paul W. Hobby Bob Long Paula M. Mendoza Chase Untermeyer

AGENDA

Date and Time: 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, August 30, 2012 Location: Room E1.010, Capitol Extension, Austin, Texas

- 1. Call to order; roll call.
- 2. Communication to the commission from the public.
- 3. Comments by the commissioners.
- 4. Comments by the executive director.
 - a. E-mail notice to file system
- 5. Approve minutes of the June 6, 2012, Executive Session, and the June 6, 2012, Commission meeting.
- 6. Presentation and discussion on the duties and responsibilities of the Public Integrity Unit of the Travis County District Attorney's Office. Presentation by Gregg Cox, Director of the Public Integrity Unit.
- 7. Presentation, discussion, and possible action on the FY 2012-13 Legislative Appropriations Request of the Texas Ethics Commission. Presentation by David A. Reisman, Executive Director.
- 8. Report from the subcommittee of commissioners on the investigation and prosecution of persons or entities who fail to register with the Texas Ethics Commission as required by law.
- 9. Report from the subcommittee of commissioners on recommendations for statutory changes to the 83rd Legislature as required by section 571.073 of the Government Code.
- 10. Briefing, discussion, and possible action to waive or reduce certain penalties assessed for late filing of campaign finance reports, lobby reports, or personal financial statements for the following individuals:

M	(\mathbf{R})	M	n	#1

Brian E. Chester Ruth J. Blake Samuel Lee Bryant Wayne Faircloth Lisa Burkhalter **Enrique Castro** Caroline Kupstas Daley Elizabeth E. Coker Daryl Dauer David F. Crain Janet Suzanne Hall Veronica Farias Robert W. 'Bobby' Jenkins, Jr. Robert Howard John H. Jackson Tim Johnson Alfredo Silva Mrs. Clyde Pittman David M. Diaz Eleanor Janice Law G. Alan Waldrop Donna N. Williams Carlos O. Garcia Bob McGrath **Kerry Ormson** Abel G. Bosquez Gustavo C. Ruiz Rasuali D. 'Bray' Bray Rissie L. Owens Antonio F. 'Tony' San Roman Veldon Lane Rawlins Pam Foster Fletcher Michael C. Barnes Larry E. Temple Charles E. Morgan Patricia L. 'Pat' Carlson Michael E. 'Mike' Welborn Eric V. Moyé Paul J. Gebolys Paul Womack Eristeo J. Perez Diane Rosaura Navarrete Sharolyn P. Wood Robert D. 'Bob' Behrens William J. Stevens William O. 'Bill' Wallace, Jr. Leslie B. Yates Randel W. 'Randy' Brown Bruce Hermann Donald L. 'Don' Williams Barbara Buxton **Brian England** Cari Christman Gena M. Godinez Calvert T. 'Tucker' Anderson Baltasar D. Cruz Ronald H. Ritter Miguel 'Mike' Herrera Charles C. 'Brick' Dickerson Barney McClure **Delwin Jones** Gwen Evans Martin Needham Lee

Delwin Jones Gwen Evans Martin Needham Lee
Thomas G. 'Tom' Maynard Elizabeth M. 'Lib' Grimmett Gregory D. Compean
Travis A. Motley Elizabeth 'Liz' Phillips Richard A. McLeon, IV
Antonio M. Rodriguez Gloria Saldana Christie McAdams Leedy
Rebecca Spurlock Iva L. Sheetz Carlos R. Chacon

Dwayne B. Stovall

J. Michael Bell, Sr.

Albert L. Black

Iva L. Sneetz

Carlos R. Chacon

Joe M. Gurecky

Frank 'Tom' Perini

Justin T. Williams

Jose O. Castillo

MEMO #2

Louis Alan Bronaugh

Oscar L. Longoria, Jr. Karren S. Price Jane Kilcrease Adams Daniel G. Altman Sylvia Garza-Perez Jana Duty Hunsicker Keny Michael Apodaca Swati N. Patel Ross Kurtz Joel P. Killingsworth Delton G. Thrasher Joe S. Cotten Christopher L. 'Chris' Scotti Jerry Nevlud Antonio Benavides Patrick J. Dixon Lloyd E. Sandefer James C. Mosser David B. Lewis Mike J. Cervantes **Gregory Parker** Jack C. Lee Gail A. Spurlock **Richard Contreras** Mohammed K. Nasrullah Edward Andres 'Eddie' Casanova Norma H. Kaehler

Miriam Eliza Martinez Paula Colvin Hand Laurie J. Turner William Eugene 'Bill' Parham Marlon C. Rollins Gloria Saldana Hector Enriquez Todd M. Smith John A. Alaniz

Miguel 'Mike' Herrera Katherine Brooks Carroll Jessica Siegel
Dora G. Alcala John Robert Marlow Philip Cortez
Zachary S. Maloney Raul G. Martinez Donna Campbell

Sharon K. Martin Fred Maldonado Joseph F. 'Joe' Vinas, IV Scott Liebling Stephen Saloom Deborah Linda Parrish

Bob Bagley Gerald W. 'Jerry' LaFleur Jared Leiman

Sharon Hemphill Michael E. McLelland Judith A. 'Judy' Jennings

Charles Reed Greene Rich Gray Terri H. Green

Jack W. Pulcher Wanda Adams

11. Briefing, discussion, and possible action to waive or reduce late-filing penalties in connection with certain corrected reports or to determine whether certain corrected reports as originally filed substantially complied with the applicable law for the following individuals:

Tom Banning Leslie Midgley Walter W. 'Wayne' Christian

Sonal S. Bhuchar Andres Muro Nicole D. Collier Ricardo Aaron Barraza Kerry L. Neves Martha C. Hulsey Theresa 'TC' Caballero Elizabeth Phillips Michael Q. Sullivan

Lori L. Cook Kelton G. Seliger William G. 'Bill' Whitehill

Karen P. Felthauser Cindy A. Stachiw Gustavo C. Ruiz Gwendolyn Fleming Michael Lee Steenbergen Todd A. Smith Richard A. Ivey Laurie J. Turner John Bass Matthew H. "Matt' Krause Donna Campbell D. Alex Mills

Eugene L. McKenzie Warren D. Chisum

12. Reports more than 30-days late; Discussion and possible action regarding the imposition of additional fines on the following individuals:

Matthew D. Melton G. C. Molison Frank Salazar Sergio C. Mora, Jr. Sam Arechar Ronald E. Sledge

Alfred Molison, Jr. Virginia Hermosa Boissonneault

Discussion and possible action in response to the following Advisory Opinion Draft:

13. AOR-570: Whether a candidate or officeholder may use for personal purposes "reward points" that are earned by making political expenditures with a credit card.

This opinion construes section 253.035 of the Election Code.

14. Public discussion and possible action on the proposal or adoption and publication in the Texas Register of new Ethics Commission Rules §§ 20.16 (Notices by Electronic Mail) and 34.19 (Courtesy Notices by Electronic Mail).

- 15. Public discussion and possible action on the proposal or adoption and publication in the Texas Register of new Ethics Commission Rule § 12.51 (Non-Complying Complaint).
- 16. Public discussion and possible action on the proposal or adoption and publication in the Texas Register of amendments and/or repeals to Ethics Commission Rules §§ 18.23 (Administrative Waiver of Fine), 18.24 (Personal Financial Statement Administrative Waiver and Reduction of Fines), 18.25 (Administrative Waiver and Reduction of Fines (Other than Personal Financial Statements)), and 18.27 (Sworn Complaints).
- 17. Public discussion and possible action on the proposal and publication in the Texas Register of an amendment to Ethics Commission Rule § 20.555 (County Executive Committee Accepting Contributions or Making Expenditures That Exceed \$25,000).
- 18. Adjourn.

CERTIFICATION: I certify that I have reviewed this document and that it conforms to all applicable Texas Register filing requirements.

Certifying Official: David A. Reisman, Executive Director

Agency Liaison: Natalia Luna Ashley, Special Counsel

NOTICE: Under the Americans with Disabilities Act, an individual with a disability must have an equal opportunity for effective communication and participation in public meetings. Upon request, the Texas Ethics Commission will provide auxiliary aids and services, such as interpreters for the deaf and hearing impaired, readers, and large print or Braille documents. In determining the type of auxiliary aid or service, the commission will give primary consideration to the individual's request. Those requesting auxiliary aids or services should notify Margie Castellanos at (512) 463-5800 or RELAY Texas (800) 735-2989 two days before this meeting so that appropriate arrangements can be made. Please also contact Ms. Castellanos if you need assistance in having English translated into Spanish.