## **TEXAS ETHICS COMMISSION**

P.O. Box 12070, Austin, Texas 78711-2070 (512) 463-5800

Tom Ramsay, Chair Jim Clancy, Vice Chair Hugh C. Akin Tom Harrison

**Bob Long** Paula M. Mendoza Chase Untermeyer

Paul W. Hobby

## **AGENDA**

Date and Time: 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, January 31, 2013 Room E1.010, Capitol Extension, Austin, Texas Location:

- 1. Call to order; roll call.
- 2. Communication to the commission from the public.
- 3. Comments by the commissioners.
- 4. Comments by the executive director.
- Approve minutes of the November 29, 2012, Commission meeting. 5.
- 6. AOR-573: Whether a legislator may solicit contributions to a non-profit organization for which the legislator serves as executive director.
  - This opinion construes section 572.060 of the Government Code.
- 7. AOR-575: Whether a parent for-profit corporation may solicit political contributions from employees of its wholly owned and operated subsidiary for-profit corporations to a generalpurpose committee assisted by the parent corporation.
  - This opinion construes section 253.100 of the Election Code.
- 8. AOR-576: Whether a general-purpose committee may accept political contributions by text message.
  - This opinion construes sections 253.093, 254.001, 254.031, and 254.151 of the Election Code.
- 9. AOR-577: Whether a signature on a petition for a place on the ballot constitutes a political contribution that may not be accepted by a judicial candidate during the period in which the candidate is prohibited from accepting political contributions.
  - This opinion construes sections 251.001 and 253.153 of the Election Code.
- Presentation and discussion on the proposed electronic filing system. David A. Reisman, Executive Director and Jessie Haug, Director of Computer Services.

11. Briefing, discussion, and possible action to waive or reduce certain penalties assessed for late filing of campaign finance reports, lobby reports, or personal financial statements for the following individuals:

Jane Kilcrease Adams Emily A. Aikman

Lawrence A. 'Skully' Allen, Jr.

Kris M. Allfrey K. Michael Apodaca Michael Berlanga

Timoteo C. 'TC' Betencourt

E. Steve Bolden, II Rasuali W. 'Bray' Bray

Gary E. Brown Mary K. Brown

Patricia L. 'Pat' Carlson

Edward Andres 'Eddie' Casanova

Carl B. 'Rusty' Case, Jr. Fernando Castillo Howard C. Cates Ernesto L. Cisneros

Cedric W. 'Mayor' Davis, Sr. Alejandro 'Alex' Dominguez

James W. Dow Angela M. Dowdle Kevin Dean Dunn

Frederick Leighton Durham, III

Thomas J. 'T.J.' Fabby

Doris Fears Rene C. Flores Esther Francis

Dana C. 'Chris' Frandsen, Jr.

Robert M. Franklin

James Frinzi
Robert Garza
Sylvia Garza-Perez
Paul J. Gebolys
Mike Gibson

Mary Edna Gonzalez Colin J. Guerra Ray Gutierrez Mary Ellen Hamm David Hanschen Nathan L. Hecht Paul A. Heidt, Jr. Sharon Hemphill

Laura N. Hernandez Miguel 'Mike' Herrera Raymond W. 'Ray' Hill

Gilberto Hinojosa Norma H. Kaehler Deborah J. Kyle Luis C. Labrado Lyle T. Larson Richard Lawson Jack C. Lee David B. Lewis Phyllis Lister Brown

Pam M. Little

David E. Loerwald Ronald K. 'Ron' Lovett Gregory P. Lowery

Fred Maldonado Kelly McBeth

Michael W. McClure Sandra G. McGee Elizabeth A. McGill Linda S. McMahon

Othon Medina Jose A. Menendez Michael Allen Mitchell

Maria D. Montes Donald R. Mullins

James Neale Curtis H. Nelson Jerry Nevlud Michael Scott Norman, Jr.

**Hudson Old** 

Billy Charles Oliver, Jr.

Swati N. Patel
Dan Patrick
Johnny J. Peet
William K. Perkison
Stephen H. Perry

Rod Ponton

Ronald 'Ron' Rangel Trey V. Reginelli Omar S. Rivero LeAnn T. Russell Cynthia M. Saenz Kandice K. Sanaie Lloyd E. Sandefer David L. Scott Joe R. Serna

James H. 'Jim' Shoemake

Shawn Stevens
Jimmy Studer
Robert J. Tessen
Delton G. Thrasher
Johnny Torres, Jr.
Grace M. Uzomba
Robert Wells
James E. Wiggins

Mark M. Shelton

Frances Dianne 'Dianne' Williams

David B. Wilson George A. Young Kimberly K. Yturri 12. Briefing, discussion, and possible action to waive or reduce late-filing penalties in connection with certain corrected reports or to determine whether certain corrected reports as originally filed substantially complied with the applicable law for the following individuals:

Gabrielle Adams Colleen Isdale David M. Smith Trenton E. 'Trent' Ashby Alma Perez Jackson McBride Stafford Phillip S. 'Phil' King Mary K. Brown **Douglas Stanley** Randy Cain Phyllis Lister Brown Allan R. Sutherlin Stefani Danielle Carter Tom Mechler Raul Torres Myra E. Crownover Dana F. 'Rick' Miller Sylvester Turner Teana V. Watson David W. Evans Robert D. Miller Patrick E. 'Pat' Fallon Becky S. Moore Eldon J. White Frances Dianne 'Dianne' Williams Linda L. Harper-Brown Oscar Javier Ornelas James N. Higdon Ryan K. Patrick Margarito Zapata, Jr. Rebeca A. Huddle Mark T. Price Jason A. Isaac Connie L. Scott

- 13. Public discussion and possible action on the adoption or proposal and publication in the Texas Register of an amendment to Ethics Commission Rule § 18.23 (Administrative Waiver of Fine).
- 14. Public discussion and possible action on the adoption or proposal and publication in the Texas Register of an amendment to Ethics Commission Rule § 50.1 (Legislative Per Diem) relating to the legislative per diem required to be set under Article III, Section 24a, of the Texas Constitution.
- 15. Presentation of the Nominating Committee report regarding the positions of Chair and Vice Chair of the Texas Ethics Commission. Election of Chair and Vice Chair of the Texas Ethics Commission.
- 16. Adjourn.

**CERTIFICATION:** I certify that I have reviewed this document and that it conforms to all applicable Texas Register filing requirements.

Certifying Official: David A. Reisman, Executive Director

Agency Liaison: Natalia Luna Ashley, Special Counsel

**NOTICE:** Under the Americans with Disabilities Act, an individual with a disability must have an equal opportunity for effective communication and participation in public meetings. Upon request, the Texas Ethics Commission will provide auxiliary aids and

services, such as interpreters for the deaf and hearing impaired, readers, and large print or Braille documents. In determining the type of auxiliary aid or service, the commission will give primary consideration to the individual's request. Those requesting auxiliary aids or services should notify Margie Castellanos at (512) 463-5800 or RELAY Texas (800) 735-2989 two days before this meeting so that appropriate arrangements can be made. Please also contact Ms. Castellanos if you need assistance in having English translated into Spanish.