TEXAS ETHICS COMMISSION P.O. Box 12070, Austin, Texas 78711-2070 (512) 463-5800

Chase Untermeyer, Chair Steven D. Wolens, Vice Chair Hugh C. Akin Jim Clancy Chad M. Craycraft Chris Flood Mary K. "Katie" Kennedy Tom Ramsay

AGENDA

Date and Time:	1:00 p.m., Thursday, March 30, 2017
Location:	Room El.014, Capitol Extension, Austin, Texas

- 1. Call to order; roll call.
- 2. Comments by the Executive Director, including on budget issues and legislation affecting the Ethics Commission budget.
- 3. Comments by the Commissioners.
- 4. Approve minutes for the following meetings:
 - Executive Session (discussion of pending litigation) February 15, 2017;
 - Public Meeting February 15, 2017; and
 - o Formal Hearing February 16, 2017
- 5. Briefing and discussion of ethics legislation in the 2017 legislative session, including status of Ethics Commission legislative recommendations.
- 6. Discussion and possible action on the Ethics Commission's authority to conduct random facial compliance reviews and full audits.

RULEMAKING

- 7. Public discussion and possible action on the proposal and publication in the Texas Register of an amendment to Ethics Commission Rules § 6.21 (Officers of the Commission).
- 8. Public discussion and possible action on the adoption or proposal and publication in the Texas Register of rules regarding the disclosure of political expenditures to vendors and others, including an amendment to Ethics Commission Rules § 20.61 (Purpose of Expenditure).

For more information, contact Seana Willing, Executive Director, at (512) 463-5800.

- 9. Public discussion and possible action on the authority of Ethics Commission staff to negotiate the resolution of a sworn complaint, including Ethics Commission Rules § 12.81 (Technical, Clerical, or De Minimis Violations), relating to the procedures for investigating and resolving technical and clerical violations of laws within the Commission's jurisdiction as provided by section 571.0631 of the Government Code.
- 10. Public discussion on drafting additional rules regarding sworn complaint procedures.

ADVISORY OPINIONS

11. Discussion of Advisory Opinion Request No. 620: Questions regarding the reporting requirements and the legislative moratorium on contributions as applied to the misappropriation and return of legislative caucus contributions.

This opinion request construes Sections 251.001, 253.0341, and 254.0311 of the Election Code.

OTHER POLICY MATTERS

- 12. Briefing, discussion, and possible action on appeals of determinations made under Ethics Commission Rules §§ 18.25 and 18.26 relating to administrative waiver or reduction of a fine, for the following individuals and political committee:
 - 1. Donica "Butch" Oberhoff (00069626)
 - 2. Chris Dawkins (00080764)
 - 3. Thomas M. Manning, Treasurer, Republican Party of Ellis County, Local (CEC) (00029533)
- 13. Briefing, discussion, and possible action to waive or reduce the late-filing penalty in connection with a corrected report or to determine whether the corrected report as originally filed substantially complied with the applicable law for the following individuals and political committees:
 - 1. Thresa A. 'Terry' Meza (00069649)
 - 2. Stanley J. 'Stan' Hartzler, Treasurer, 'CCRP' Caldwell County Republican Party (CEC) (00056214)
 - 3. James D. 'Jim' Blume, Treasurer, The Committee to Elect Judge Gena Slaughter (00069231)
 - 4. Denise Baker, Treasurer, 'DowPAC' The Dow Chemical Company Employees PAC (00016018)
 - 5. Leann K. Rafferty (00080287)

For more information, contact Seana Willing, Executive Director, at (512) 463-5800.

- 6. John Halloran Romanow, Treasurer, 'TAS-PAC' Texas Assn. Of Staffing PAC (00016232)
- 14. Discussion and possible action regarding the termination of a campaign treasurer appointment for the following inactive individuals and political committees:

Individuals

- 1. Michael Alan Dougan (00060199)
- 2. Beverly Watts Davis (00080262)
- 3. Mari Aguirre-Rodriguez (00080441)

Political Committees

- 4. Jein Gadson, Treasurer, Key PAC (00065246)
- 5. Jared G. LeBlanc, Treasurer, New Leaders Texas PAC (00067438)
- 6. Virginia White, Treasurer, Midland County Texas Democratic Women (00070088)
- 7. Lydia B. Garza, Treasurer, American Protection Specialists PAC (00070311)
- 8. Brandy J. Dougan, Treasurer, Politics Hub (00080098)
- 9. Corey W. Nation, Treasurer, Poker in Texas (00080136)
- 15. Communication to the Commission from the public.
- 16. Adjourn.

CERTIFICATION: I certify that I have reviewed this document and that it conforms to all applicable Texas Register filing requirements. Certifying Official & Agency Liaison: Seana Willing, Executive Director.

NOTICE: Under the Americans with Disabilities Act, an individual with a disability must have an equal opportunity for effective communication and participation in public meetings. Upon request, the Texas Ethics Commission will provide auxiliary aids and services, such as interpreters for the deaf and hearing impaired, readers, and large print or Braille documents. In determining the type of auxiliary aid or service, the Commission will give primary consideration to the individual's request. Those requesting auxiliary aids or services should notify Margie Castellanos at (512) 463-5800 or RELAY Texas at (800) 735-2989 two days before this meeting so that appropriate arrangements can be made. Please also contact Ms. Castellanos if you need assistance in having English translated into Spanish.