TEXAS ETHICS COMMISSION

P.O. Box 12070, Austin, Texas 78711-2070 (512) 463-5800

Steven D. Wolens, Chair Chad M. Craycraft, Vice Chair Randall H. Erben Chris Flood Mary K. "Katie" Kennedy Patrick W. Mizell Richard Schmidt Joseph O. Slovacek

PUBLIC MEETING AGENDA

Date and Time: 9:00 a.m., Thursday, October 4, 2018 Location: Room E1.014, Capitol Extension, Austin, Texas

- 1. Call to order; roll call.
- 2. Comments by Commissioners.
- 3. Discussion about policy for Texas Ethics Commission spokesperson.
- 4. Update regarding Texas Ethics Commission Legislative Appropriations Request for FY 2020-2021.
- 5. Approve minutes for the following meetings:
 - o Executive Session June 26, 2018; and
 - o Public Meeting June 27, 2018.

ADMINISTRATIVE WAIVERS, REDUCTIONS, APPEALS OF FINES

- 6. Discussion and possible action on appeal of fines increased by the Commission, and on appeals of determinations made under Ethics Commission Rules §§ 18.25 and 18.26 relating to administrative waiver or reduction of a fine, for the following individuals and legislative caucus:
 - 1. Larry S. Smith (00080158)
 - 2. Laura R. Thompson (00080388) reconsideration
 - 3. Amanda J. Marzoullo (00065422)
 - 4. Perry L. Fowler (00067017)
 - 5. Kelly Sullivan (00081216)
 - 6. Cooke W. Kelsey (00082053)

- 7. Cheryl Surber (00082432)
- 8. Daniel "Dan" Wyde (00058687)
- 7. Discussion and possible action to waive or reduce the late-filing penalty in connection with a corrected report or to determine whether the corrected report as originally filed substantially complied with the applicable law for the following individuals and political committees:
 - 1. Ana Lisa Garza (00065756)
 - 2. Katherine Elizabeth "Katy" Boatman (00082007)
 - 3. Melissa Johnson, Treasurer, "CCRW" Clear Creek Republican Women (00054674)
 - 4. Christopher A. Miller (00082030)
 - 5. Stuart M. Lane, Treasurer, "DFW Conservative Voters" Dallas/Fort Worth Conservative Voters (00050436)
 - 6. Jill A. Wolfskill (00082329)
 - 7. Robert J. Ramos (00081852)
 - 8. Roman James Alfred McAllen (0081739)
 - 9. Sheri Soltes (00081732)
 - 10. Tom Banning, Treasurer, Texas Academy of Family Physicians PAC (00016860)
 - 11. Susan R. Barrick, Treasurer, "TDW PAC" Texas Democratic Women PAC (00053935)
 - 12. Sarah J. Roddy, Treasurer, "Tex Hy-PAC" Texas Dental Hygienists' Political Action Committee (00015952)
 - 13. Christopher S. "Chris" Shields, Treasurer, Ag Air PAC (00016365)
 - 14. Patricia A. "Pat" Hardy (00051772)
 - 15. Eric L. Johnson (00065751)
 - 16. J.D. Sheffield (00066222)
 - 17. Carlos Antonio Raymond (00080137)
 - 18. David E. Gibson, Treasurer, Texas Corn PAC of the Corn Producers Association of Texas (00068159)
 - 19. Dabney D. Bassel (00080342)
 - 20. Kirsten B. Cohoon (00081710)
 - 21. Mark J. Beausoleil (00082310)
 - 22. Christopher V. Tyrone, Treasurer, "HCFFCFRG" Haltom City Firefighters Committee for Responsible Government (00065031)
 - 23. Abel J. Austin, Treasurer, "SSPFRG" Sulphur Springs Professional Firefighters for Responsible Government (00082694)
 - 24. Charles Shockley, Treasurer, "CFFRG" Carrollton Firefighters for Responsible Government (00053132)
 - 25. Jay A. Thompson, Treasurer, "AFACT" Association of Fire & Casualty Cos. of Texas PAC (00017277)

- 26. Aida R. Rojas (00065785)
- 27. Jason B. Huddleston (00081916)
- 28. Don Dyer, Treasurer, New Leadership PAC (00082072)
- 29. Scott Janson, Treasurer, Texas Beverage Alliance of the Texas Package Stores Association (00016036)
- 30. Greg Hitt (00081849)
- 31. Audra L. Conwell, Treasurer, "IPRX PAC" Independent Pharmacists RX PAC (00068711)
- 32. Claudia Natali Hurtado (00082288)
- 33. Kristin Tassin (00082010)
- 34. Lillie J. Schechter, Treasurer, "HCDP" Harris County Democratic Party (CEC) (00015507)
- 35. Henry G. "Hank" Segelke (00082315)
- 36. Steven Halvorson, Treasurer, "TOP PAC" TOP Political Action Committee (00066821)
- 37. Whitney Tymas, Treasurer, Texas Justice & Public Safety PAC (00082400)
- 38. Kent W. Johns (00082373)
- 39. Guadalupe "Lupe" Valdez (00082283)
- 40. Karrie C. Washenfelder, Treasurer "FBEF-COPE" Fort Bend Employee Federation Committee on Political Education (00055453)
- 41. American Wind Action, Entity Filing Direct Campaign Expenditure (DCE) Reports (00082640)

ADVISORY OPINIONS

8. Discussion of Advisory Opinion Request No. SP-14: Whether a judge or a candidate for judicial office may use public resources for campaign purposes, and whether an associate judge may wear judicial robes and use the title "associate judge" in political advertising.

This opinion request construes sections 255.003 and 255.006 of the Election Code and section 39.02 of the Penal Code.

9. Update regarding Advisory Opinion Request No. AOR-628: Whether section 572.069 of the Government Code would prohibit a former employee of a state agency from accepting employment from a person to which the state agency had awarded a contract.

This opinion request was withdrawn by the requestor.

OTHER POLICY MATTERS

- 10. Discussion of possible recommendations for statutory changes to the 86th Legislature as required by § 571.073 of the Government Code.
- 11. Discussion and possible action on a petition for rulemaking concerning the designation of a corporation's political contributions made to a general-purpose committee for administrative expenses under § 253.100(a) of the Election Code.
- 12. Discussion and possible action on the proposal and publication in the Texas Register of new and amended Ethics Commission rules regarding corporations and labor organizations making political expenditures to finance the establishment and administration of, and solicitation of political contributions to, a general-purpose committee and making political contributions to a political committee for supporting or opposing measures exclusively under §§ 253.096 and 253.100 of the Election Code.
- 13. Discussion of unfinished business from the Public Meeting Agenda for October 3, 2018.
- 14. Adjourn.

CERTIFICATION: I certify that I have reviewed this document and that it conforms to all applicable Texas Register filing requirements. Certifying Official & Agency Liaison: Seana Willing, Executive Director.

NOTICE: Under the Americans with Disabilities Act, an individual with a disability must have an equal opportunity for effective communication and participation in public meetings. Upon request, the Texas Ethics Commission will provide auxiliary aids and services, such as interpreters for the deaf and hearing impaired, readers, and large print or Braille documents. In determining the type of auxiliary aid or service, the Commission will give primary consideration to the individual's request. Those requesting auxiliary aids or services should notify Margie Castellanos at (512) 463-5800 or RELAY Texas at (800) 735-2989 two days before this meeting so that appropriate arrangements can be made. Please also contact Ms. Castellanos if you need assistance in having English translated into Spanish.