TEXAS ETHICS COMMISSION

P.O. Box 12070, Austin, Texas 78711-2070 (512) 463-5800

Randall H. Erben, Chair Chris Flood, Vice Chair Chad M. Craycraft Mary K. "Katie" Kennedy Patrick W. Mizell Richard S. Schmidt Joseph O. Slovacek Steven D. Wolens

MEETING AGENDA

Date and Time: 10:00 a.m., Wednesday, March 20, 2024 Location: Room E1.014, Capitol Extension, Austin, Texas

INFORMATION ON HOW TO VIEW AND/OR PARTICIPATE IN THE ONLINE BROADCAST OF THIS MEETING WILL BE POSTED ON OUR WEBSITE ON THE DAY OF THE MEETING HERE:

https://www.ethics.state.tx.us/meetings/meetings_2020-2024.php#2024

- 1. Call to order; roll call.
- 2. Discussion regarding dates for next quarterly Commission meeting.
- 3. Approve minutes for the following meetings:
 - o Executive Session December 18, 2023; and
 - o Public Agenda December 18, 2023.

RULEMAKING

Rule Publication

- 4. Discussion and possible action on the proposal and publication in the Texas Register of comprehensive amendments and reorganization of Chapter 12 of Title 1 of the Texas Administrative Code, regarding Sworn Complaints and related procedures.
- 5. Discussion and possible action on the proposal and publication in the Texas Register of comprehensive amendments and reorganization of Chapter 6 of Title 1 of the Texas Administrative Code, regarding the organization and administration of the Ethics Commission.
- 6. Discussion and possible action on the proposal and publication in the Texas Register of an amendment to section 26.1 of Title 1 of the Texas Administrative Code, regarding political advertising.

ADVISORY OPINIONS

7. Draft Advisory Opinion No. AOR-693: Whether a Texas Limited Liability Company that is a wholly-owned subsidiary of a Master Limited Partnership that is traded on the New York Stock Exchange is prohibited by Chapter 253 of the Election Code from making certain political contributions.

This opinion construes Section 253.094 of the Election Code.

8. Draft Advisory Opinion No. AOR-697: How various provisions of title 15 of the Texas Election Code apply to a Texas "purpose trust" formed under Section 112.121, Texas Property Code.

This opinion construes Subchapter D of Chapter 253 of the Election Code.

9. Draft Advisory Opinion No. AOR-698: Whether employees of a state agency may provide a list of preferred items to non-profit entities that would be used in carrying out the agency's mission so long as the items are not provided to employees for their personal use or enjoyment.

This opinion construes Chapter 39 of the Penal Code.

10. Draft Advisory Opinion Nos. AOR-699 and AOR-701: Where must candidates for appraisal district board of directors file campaign treasurer appointments and campaign finance reports?

This opinion construes Title 15 of the Election Code.

11. Draft Advisory Opinion No. AOR-700: Whether the purchase of a storage trailer is a normal overhead, administrative, or operating cost of a political party such that contributions from a corporation may be accepted and used for its purchase.

This opinion construes Subchapter D of Chapter 253 and Chapter 257 of the Election Code.

12. Draft Advisory Opinion No. AOR-702: Whether a state university may provide prizes to randomly selected attendees of sporting events under Chapter 36 of the Penal Code when the recipient of the prize may be a university employee.

This opinion construes Chapter 36 of the Penal Code.

ADMINISTRATIVE WAIVER OF FINES AND TREASURER TERMINATIONS

13. Discussion and possible action on appeals of determinations made under 1 Tex. Admin. Code §§ 18.11, 18.25 and 18.26 relating to administrative waiver or reduction of a fine, for the following filers:

Staff Recommendation: 8-Day Correction Waiver

- A. Bryan Bufkin (00085674)
- B. Michael P. Doyle, Campaign Treasurer, Harris County Democratic Party (00015507)
- C. Justin Ray (00083168)

Staff Recommendation: Waiver

- D. Raymond A. Ash (00082333)
- E. Carey Counsil (00085594)
- F. Vivian Garza-Steele, Campaign Treasurer, Zachry Construction Corporation Political Action Committee (00017353)
- G. Daniel O'Dell, Campaign Treasurer, Texas Dental Association Political Action Committee (00015960)

Staff Recommendation: Reduction

- H. Kim Cooks (00069299)
- I. Kit Marshall (00085998)

Staff Recommendation: No Further Reduction or Waiver

- J. Evelyn Brooks (00086437)
- K. Joshua Markle (00083540)
- L. Osbert Rodriguez III (00080354)
- M. Bobby Wilkinson (00081580)
- N. Omar Yanar (00086315)
- O. Brittany Yowell, Former Campaign Treasurer, Bond Steering Committee Members for Trenton ISD (dissolved, 00086682
- 14. Discussion and possible action regarding the termination of a campaign treasurer appointment for the following inactive political committees and individuals:

Individuals:

- 1. Victor Avila, Jr. (00086308)
- 2. Andrew M. Bayley (00085862)
- 3. LaDale A. Buggs (086009)
- 4. Cameron A. Campbell (00086284)
- 5. Cynthia T. Cavazos (00069817)
- 6. Jake Collier (00086210)
- 7. Paula K. Knippa (00085313)
- 8. Kathi A. Marvel (00086314)
- 9. Brian M. McConnell (00084268)

- 10. Allan E. Meagher (00086437)
- 11. Samuel L. Milledge, II (00085622)
- 12. Taylor M. Mondick (00086236)
- 13. Michael Monreal (00086047)
- 14. Frank A. Ramirez, IV (00085801)
- 15. Jesse Ringness (00086346)
- 16. Norma J. Witherspoon (00084327)

Political Committees:

- 1. Asher Gillaspie, Treasurer, We Can Keep It (00086532)
- 2. Rachel Stoerkel, Treasurer, Texans for Working Families (00086920)
- 3. Rachel Stoerkel, Treasurer, ONE Texas, Inc. (00087062)
- 4. Christina Koob, Treasurer, Jolt PAC (00084696)
- 5. Gustave Guerra, Treasurer, United Together (00080982)
- 6. Brian T. Stoller, Treasurer, Lone Star State of Mind PAC (00082248)
- 7. Jana D. Hawkins, Treasurer, Jefferson County Association of Deputy Sheriffs and Correction Officers PAC (00017014)
- 8. Jeanie M. Davilla, Treasurer, Heart of Texas Apartment Association (00016366)
- 9. Zach D. Maxwell, Treasurer, Hood County Republican PAC (00086612)
- 10. Daniel A. Cuellar, Treasurer, Laredo Political Action Committee (00067023)
- 11. Becky Allen, Treasurer, Preferred Care Partners Political Action Committee (00069436)
- 12. Michael J. Warner, Treasurer, Friends of Texas Southern University (00087131)
- 13. Kimberly Y. Evans, Treasurer, Friends of Public Education 4 Frisco ISD PAC (00087047)
- 14. Michael J. Warner, Treasurer, A Better Texas PAC (00083091)
- 15. Phillip W. Carpenter, Treasurer, A United Allen (00086606)
- 16. Kristen Perez, Treasurer, Strength In Unity (00085383)
- 17. Melissa E. Hernandez, Treasurer, Friends of GPISD (00087079)
- 18. Brian Stoller, Treasurer, South East Democratic Alliance (00083997)

OTHER MATTERS

15. Adjourn.

CERTIFICATION: I certify that I have reviewed this document and that it conforms to all applicable Texas Register filing requirements. Certifying Official & Agency Liaison: J.R. Johnson, Executive Director.

NOTICE: Under the Americans with Disabilities Act, an individual with a disability must have an equal opportunity for effective communication and participation in public meetings. Upon request, the Texas Ethics Commission will provide auxiliary aids and

services, such as interpreters for the deaf and hearing impaired, readers, and large print or Braille documents. In determining the type of auxiliary aid or service, the Commission will give primary consideration to the individual's request. Those requesting auxiliary aids or services should notify Margie Castellanos at (512) 463-5800 or RELAY Texas at (800) 735-2989 two days before this meeting so that appropriate arrangements can be made. Please also contact Ms. Castellanos if you need assistance in having English translated into Spanish.