

TEXAS ETHICS COMMISSION MEETING

Afternoon Meeting Minutes

February 13, 2014, 1:18 p.m. Capitol Extension, Room E1.010 Austin, Texas 78701



COMMISSIONERS PRESENT: Jim Clancy, Chair; Paul W. Hobby, Vice Chair; Hugh C. Akin,

Wilhelmina Delco, Tom Harrison, Bob Long, Tom Ramsay, and

Chase Untermeyer.

COMMISSIONERS NOT PRESENT: None.

STAFF PRESENT: Natalia L. Ashley, Amy Barden, Lauren Bellomy,

Margie Castellanos, Homer Diaz, Robbie Douglas, Sue Edwards, Nick Espinosa, Jessie Haug, Becky Levy, Bobby Mannas, John

Moore, Mike McElhaney, Melissa Ramos, and Ian Steusloff.

MINUTES

This meeting was recorded. These minutes are a summary record of the Commission's actions at the meeting. For a detailed record of discussions and statements made by persons speaking at the meeting, please consult the audio recordings on file at the Commission's office.

Agenda Item 1: Call to order; roll call.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Clancy. Natalia Luna Ashley, Interim Executive Director, called the roll. All Commissioners were present.

Agenda Item 2: Briefing, discussion, and possible action to waive or reduce certain penalties assessed

for late-filing of campaign finance reports, lobby reports, or personal financial

statements for the following individuals:

1. Laura McPartland Matz (00039254) Lobbyist

Report: lobby activities report due December 10, 2013

Penalty: \$500

Categorization: waiver of the late-filing penalty

2. Miryam Bujanda (00039946) Lobbyist

Report: lobby activities report due September 10, 2013

Penalty: \$500

Categorization: waiver of the late-filing penalty

3. David M. Smith (00068900)

Treasurer, Women Organizing Women Democrats

Report: monthly report due November 5, 2013

Penalty: \$500

Categorization: reduction of the late-filing penalty to \$100

4. Joe W. Arnold (00061245) Lobbyist

Report: lobby activities report due December 10, 2013

Penalty: \$500

Categorization: reduction of the late-filing penalty to \$100

5. Nora Del Bosque (00029938) Lobbyist

Report: lobby activities report due December 10, 2013

Penalty: \$500

Categorization: reduction of the late-filing penalty to \$100

6. Lloyd Wilson (00063937) Lobbyist

Report: lobby activities report due December 10, 2013

Penalty: \$500

Categorization: no waiver of the late-filing penalty

7. James R. 'Rusty' Reid (00069428) Member, University of North Texas System Board of Regents

Report: personal financial statement due September 3, 2013

Penalty: \$500

Categorization: no waiver of the late-filing penalty

8. Matthew D. 'Matt' Stillwell (00068140) Candidate, State Representative

Report: semiannual report due July 15, 2013

Penalty: \$1,500 (increased at the October 2013 meeting)

Categorization: no waiver of the late-filing penalty

9. Ray C. Jones, Sr. (00027567)

Treasurer, 'HBAD PAC' Houston Black American Democrats Political Action Committee

a) Report: semiannual report due January 17, 2012

Penalty: \$500

Categorization: no waiver of the late-filing penalty

b) Report: semiannual report due July 16, 2012

Penalty: \$500

Categorization: no waiver of late-filing penalty

Total penalties for reports (a) and (b): \$1,000

10. Stacy Odom (00015789)

Treasurer, 'ARW' Austin Republican Women's Club

Report: 8-day pre-election report due October 28, 2013

Penalty: \$1,100

Categorization: reduction of the late-filing penalty to \$100

11. Barbara E. Douglas (00017309)

Treasurer, 'LUMPAC' Lumbermen's Association of Texas Political Action Committee

Report: 8-day pre-election report due October 28, 2013

Penalty: \$600

Categorization: reduction of the late-filing penalty to \$300

12. Walter M. Manly (00069596)

Treasurer, Williamson County Republican Leaders

Report: 8-day pre-election report due October 28, 2013

Penalty: \$1,300

Categorization: reduction of the late-filing penalty to \$500

13. Walter M. Manly (00069596)

Treasurer, Williamson County Republican Leaders

Report: 30-day pre-election report due October 7, 2013

Penalty: \$500

Categorization: no waiver of the late-filing penalty

14. Ray C. Jones, Sr. (00027567)

Treasurer, 'HBAD PAC' Houston Black American Democrats Political Action Committee

Report: 8-day pre-election report due October 28, 2013

Penalty: \$600

Categorization: reduction of the late-filing penalty to \$400

15. Debra A. 'Debbie' Gregory (00043058) Treasurer, 'HCRW PAC' Hill County Republican Women PAC

Report: 8-day pre-election report due October 28, 2013

Penalty: \$4,100

Categorization: reduction of the late-filing penalty to \$1,250

Motion by Commissioner Delco to adopt categorizations on Agenda Item 2, numbers 1 through 15; second by Commissioner Akin. Motion passed by a vote of eight ayes. Categorizations are adopted on Agenda Item 2, numbers 1 through 15.

Agenda Item 3: Briefing, discussion, and possible action to waive or reduce late-filing penalties in

connection with certain corrected reports or to determine whether certain corrected reports as originally filed substantially complied with the applicable law for the

following individuals:

1. C.M. English, Jr. (00016109)

Treasurer, UTU PAC

Report: 8-day pre-election report due October 28, 2013

Penalty: \$8,200

Recommendation: substantial compliance

2. Randy E. Rolando (00016115)

Treasurer, Rio Grande Valley Sugar Growers, Inc. PAC

Report: 8-day pre-election report due October 28, 2013

Penalty: \$2,500

Recommendation: substantial compliance

3. Lillian Trujillo (00069088)

Treasurer, 'S.E.I.E.G.' San Elizario Incorporation Efforts Group

Report: 8-day pre-election report due October 28, 2013

Penalty: \$4,000

Recommendation: substantial compliance

4. Kathy N. Waller (00017253)

Treasurer, 'CCR PAC' Coca-Cola Refreshments USA, Inc Nonpartisan Political Action Committee

Report: 8-day pre-election report due October 28, 2013

Penalty: \$700

Recommendation: reduction of the late-filing penalty to \$500

5. J.D. Sheffield (00066222) State Representative

Report: 8-day pre-election report due October 29, 2012

Penalty: \$10,000

Recommendation: reduction of the late-filing penalty to \$1,000

Motion by Commissioner Ramsay to approve the recommendations based on previous Commission decisions on Agenda Item 3, numbers 1 through 5; second by Commissioner Long. Motion passed by a vote of eight ayes. The recommendations based on previous Commission decisions are adopted on Agenda Item 3, numbers 1 through 5.

Agenda Item 4: Discussion and possible action regarding the termination of a campaign treasurer appointment of the following inactive candidates:

CANDIDATES

- 1. Christopher D. Christal (00068081) Candidate for State Senator, District 26
- 2. Sherri L. Little (00068350)
 Candidate for State Board of Education
- 3. Donald R. Mullins (00068295)
 Candidate for State Representative, District 149

POLITICAL COMMITTEES

- 4. El Paso Stonewall Young Democrats (00067793)
 Paul W. Landerman, Treasurer
- 5. Plumbers PAC (00053204) Glenn F. Fuller, Treasurer
- 6. Unity PAC (00068076) Curtis Williams, II, Treasurer

Motion by Commissioner Delco to adopt recommendations to terminate the campaign treasurer appointments on Agenda Item 4, numbers 1 through 6; second by Commissioner Long. Motion passed by a vote of eight ayes. Recommendations to terminate the campaign treasurer appointments are adopted on Agenda Item 4, numbers 1 through 6.

Agenda Item 5: Comments by Commissioners.

None.

Agenda Item 6: Adjourn.

Motion by Commissioner Long to adjourn; second by Commissioner Ramsay. **Motion passed by unanimous consent.**