

TEXAS ETHICS COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

Executive Session

December 20, 2016, 10:26 a.m. 300 Crescent Court, Suite 1400 Dallas, Texas 75201



COMMISSIONERS PRESENT: Chase Untermeyer, Chair; Steven D. Wolens, Vice Chair;

Hugh C. Akin; Chad M. Craycraft; and Tom Ramsay.

COMMISSIONERS NOT PRESENT: Jim Clancy, Wilhelmina Delco, and Mary K. "Katie"

Kennedy.

MINUTES

These minutes are a summary record of the Commission's actions at the meeting. For a detailed record of discussions and statements made by persons speaking at the meeting, please consult the audio recordings on file at the Commission's office.

Agenda Item 1: Call to order; roll call.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Untermeyer. Ian Steusloff, General Counsel, called the roll. All Commissioners were present except Commissioners Clancy, Delco, and Kennedy.

Agenda Item 2: Executive session pursuant to Section 551.074, Government Code, Personnel

Matters; Closed Meeting. Discussion of personnel matters, including applicants

for the position of executive director.

The Commission went into Executive Session at 10:27 a.m.

Agenda Item 3: Reconvene in open session.

The Commission reconvened in open session at 10:55 a.m. Motion by Vice Chair Wolens to appoint Seana Willing as Executive Director of the Commission, effective on February 13, 2017, with an annual compensation of \$133,463; second by Commissioner Akin. Motion passed by a vote of five ayes. Motion by Vice Chair Wolens to appoint Ian Steusloff as Interim Executive Director of the Commission, effective from January 1, 2017, through February 12, 2017, with an annual, pro rata compensation of \$133,463; second by Commission Akin. Motion passed by a vote of five ayes. Motion by Vice Chair Wolens to reconsider the vote on appointing Ms. Willing as Executive Director of the Commission so that the vote may be taken by roll call; second by Commissioner Akin. Motion passed by a vote of five ayes. Motion by Vice Chair Wolens to appoint Seana Willing as Executive Director of the Commission, effective on February 13, 2017, with an annual compensation of \$133,463; second by Commissioner Akin. Vote was taken by roll call. Motion passed by a vote of five ayes. Motion by Vice Chair Wolens to reconsider the vote on appointing Mr. Steusloff as Interim Executive Director of the Commission, to serve from January 1, 2017 through February 12, 2017, so that the vote may be taken by roll call; second by Commissioner Akin. Motion passed by a vote of five ayes. Motion by Vice Chair Wolens to appoint Ian Steusloff as Interim Executive Director of the Commission, effective from January 1, 2017, through

February 12, 2017, with an annual pro rata compensation of \$133,463; second by Commissioner Akin. Vote was taken by roll call. **Motion passed by a vote of five ayes.**

Agenda Item 4: Adjourn.

Motion by Commissioner Akin to adjourn; second by Commissioner Ramsay. Commission meeting adjourned by unanimous consent.

Meeting adjourned at 11:01 a.m.