Texas Ethics Commission Public Meeting Minutes

December 13, 2018 3:00 p.m. Capitol Extension Room E1.014 Austin, Texas 78701

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT: Steven D. Wolens, Chair; Chad M. Craycraft,

Vice Chair; Randall H. Erben, Chris Flood, Mary K. "Katie" Kennedy, Patrick W. Mizell, Richard

S. Schmidt and Joseph O. Slovacek.

COMMISSIONERS NOT PRESENT: None.

STAFF PRESENT: Margie Castellanos, Nick Espinosa, Betty

Gallegos, Domingo Gonzales, Angela Goodwin, Jessie Haug, Cristina Hernandez, Haksoon Andrea Low, Amy Padilla, Ian Steusloff, Jim

Tinley, and Seana Willing.

MINUTES

This meeting was recorded. These minutes are a summary record of the Commission's actions at the meeting. For a detailed record of discussions and statements made by persons speaking at the meeting, please consult either the video recording available to view online at: http://www.house.state.tx.us/video-audio/capitol-events/, or the audio recordings on file at the Commission's office.

Agenda Item 1: Call to order; roll call.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Wolens. Seana Willing, Executive Director, called the roll. All Commissioners were present.

Agenda Item 2: Presentation of certificates of services awards to Former Commissioners Hugh Akin, Jim Clancy and Tom Ramsay.

Chair Wolens addressed the Commission and presented awards. Tom Ramsay was absent at presentation.

Agenda Item 3: Discussion and adoption of TEC statutory change recommendations to the 86th Legislature as required by § 571.073 of the Government Code.

Chair Wolens addressed the Commission. Commissioner Slovacek responded and with questions and comments. Motion by Commissioner Slovacek to adopt TEC statutory change recommendations to the 86th Legislature as required by § 571.073 of the Government Code; second by Commissioner Erben. **Motion passed by a vote of eight ayes.**

Agenda Item 4: Discussion and possible action on the approval for Cameron County to use EasyCampaignFinance software from EasyVote for electronic filing of campaign finance reports.

Chair Wolens addressed the Commission. Motion by Commissioner Craycraft to approve Cameron County to use EasyCampaignFinance software from EasyVote for electronic filing of campaign finance reports; second by Commissioner Kennedy. **Motion passed by a vote of eight ayes.**

Agenda Item 5: Discussion and possible action on the approval for Aransas County to use EasyCampaignFiance software from EasyVote for electronic filing of campaign finance reports.

Chair Wolens addressed the Commission. Motion by Commissioner Craycraft to approve Aransas County to use EasyCampaignFinance software from EasyVote for electronic filing of campaign finance reports; second by Commissioner Kennedy. **Motion passed by a vote of eight ayes.**

Agenda Item 6: Discussion and possible action on policy allowing Executive Director to approve requests from local filing authorities to use EasyCampaignFinance software from EasyVote for electronic filing of campaign finance reports.

Chair Wolens addressed the Commission. Motion by Commissioner Schmidt to allow the Executive Director to approve requests from local filing authorities to use EasyCampaignFinance software from EasyVote for electronic filing of campaign finance reports; second by Commissioner Erben. **Motion passed by a vote of eight ayes.**

Agenda Item 7: Adjourn.

Motion by Chair Wolens to adjourn. Commission meeting adjourned by unanimous consent.

Meeting adjourned at 3:35 p.m.